News and Events
Home › Press Release and Events › Largest ever, Canada India Parliamentary Friendship Group constituted

Largest ever, Canada India Parliamentary Friendship Group constituted

1.   The largest ever Canada India Parliamentary Friendship Group, comprising of over 75 Parliamentarians, representing both houses of Parliament and cutting across Party lines, was constituted today, at the Parliament Hill in Ottawa.

2.   An Annual General Meeting (AGM) was convened by Mr. Deepak Obhrai, a long standing Parliamentarian, as the Founding Chair of the Canada-India Parliamentary Friendship Group(CIPFG).Mr. Chandra Arya (Liberal, representing Ottawa riding) was unanimously elected as the new Chair of CIPFG. Five MPs elected as Vice Presidents are:
House of Commons

  • Ms. Salma Zaid - Liberal
  • Ms. Ruby Sahota - Liberal 
  • Mr. Bob Saroya - Conservative


  • Mr. Daniel Lang - Conservative 
  • Ms. Pana Merchant - Liberal

3.   Addressing the AGM, High Commissioner Vishnu Prakash, congratulated the newly elected Executive Committee and members of the CIPFG. He called for regular Parliamentary exchanges and gave a quick overview of the bilateral ties, outlining Trade & Investments, Education, Energy and People-to-people contacts, as four of the key pillars of India Canada relations. He looked forward to working closely with members of CIPFG in building further on the momentum of bilateral cooperation and partnership.

11 May 2016

Address: High Commission of India, 10, Springfield Road, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1M 1C9

Working hours: 0900 hours to 1730 hours (Monday to Friday)
Telephone Numbers: 613 744 3751, 613 744 3752, 613 744 3753
Fax Number: 613 744 3033 / 613 744 0913.
E-Mail :